Politicalmonkey2010

The Truth Shall Set You Free…It might piss you off first, but it will set you free.

An Open Letter to the 112th Congress Regarding Repealing Health Care

Posted by politicalmonkey2010 on January 16, 2011

Ladies and Gentlemen of the 112th Congress:

As you prepare to symbolically repeal health care, and you enter into political rhetoric to fulfill campaign promises, let me assure you, health care is a very personal issue, it is not symbolic for me and millions of other people, it is real, it is tangible, it has consequences and impact.

I come from a family who has always embraced the idea of pulling yourself up by the bootstraps, not asking for a government handout.  I remember shortly after I graduated from college…I lost my job because the company closed, it never occurred to me to apply for unemployment.  I was raised to be not too proud to work, I took what job I could get, until I found a better job.  My  family has always believed in service to country, we have  a rich military history, ranging from enlisted people to graduates from West Point,  all proudly serving the United States of America, past and current.  We  can trace our family roots back to the American Revolution.  I am an educated woman, self employed, with a strong work ethic.  My “pedigree” is as noble as any one of yours.  But here is where we differ…you have health insurance, I am in essence forced to live outside my country because of a pre-existing health condition and unaffordable insurance.   So instead of contributing to my country’s economy, I contribute to another country’s economy.  My talents, my knowledge, my abilities are being hijacked because of health insurance costs and conditions.  I am the person you talk about being the driving engine of the economy, the small business owner.   I could return to the US, and given current health insurance costs, I would have a choice of either paying for health insurance or having a roof over my head.  Either way it  puts me in an unsustainable position, it would force me into seeking government assistance.  I do not want government assistance, I want to be able to provide for myself, I want to contribute to the betterment of society.  Without health care reform, you force me and others into sucking off the government “teat”.  I wasn’t raised that way, and I am not going to start now.

As you prepare to  throw sand in the gears, try to cut off funding, launching time consuming and fruitless investigations, choose to selectively ignore the CBO figures, choose not to apply the “rules” you promised, twist, spin and incite with rhetoric like “Repealing the Job Killing Health Care Act”.  I wait.  I do not believe that I am alone in my wait.

The past two years  of  politicizing  the people’s business has created gridlock, sound bites that incite, and a general lack of credibility and confidence in government.  And now we start again?  Instead of symbolic actions, we need tangible, honest actions.  The health care bill and most of its benefits and cost reductions will not fully be implemented until 2014.  It is time to stop the spinning and half truths, it is time to put the needs of the people first – that means telling the people the truth.  This is not a “Job Killing Health Care Act”.  This is not a government take over of health care, this is not “death panels” – what this health care act does is give affordable health care to the public.

Wouldn’t it be refreshing to see this Congress put aside the rhetoric, put aside the partisan politics, roll up their sleeves and get down to work, honest work, the people’s work?  We have lots of problems to solve, real problems.  In today’s information age, we the people have the ability to source, evaluate, verify, and transmit data, and ideas within minutes.   We the people are watching, even those of us outside the US still vote.  My vote counts, my voice counts.  I am simply asking you to do the right thing, be truthful, be factual, solve problems, don’t create artificial ones.

Sign me….

An American in Exile due to Health Insurance

4 Responses to “An Open Letter to the 112th Congress Regarding Repealing Health Care”

  1. Steve said

    Health care does indeed need reform, just not the bag of garbage that Obama rammed down our throats. Without the single most important cost-shaving element for health care reform, tort reform, any other “solution” is a sham. As for Obabacare killing jobs, it has already cost this nation over 50,000 high-paying jobs in medical sales. On my web site, http://www.gorillamedicalsales.com , a leading job board for individuals seeking medical sales jobs, we have witnessed a dramatic decrease in the number of pharmaceutical sales jobs, and medical device sales jobs since the passing of Obamacare.

    • Thank you for your comment, it beautifully illustrates the unproductive tone of the health care discussion- bag of garbage that Obama rammed down our throats.
      First, Obama did not ram it down anybody’s throat, the man does not have a magic wand and with a wave of the wand all is done, if that were the case a public option would have been in there. The garbage you refer to I can only assume is coming from the Fox News spin. While I agree that tort reform should be part of it, and there are other reforms that need to occur, but that means a battle with more lobbyist doesn’t it? That is the biggest problem for the average American, it isn’t about what is right, just, fair, and economically feasible for the majority, it is about which group/industry can throw the most money, hence the most influence.
      With regards to jobs – your analogy is a non sequitur, this country, world wide for that matter is experiencing an unprecedented downturn, all industries are feeling it. When people experience an economic downturn, all things get downsized, including the ability to pay high insurance rates, medical care, dental care all go on the back burner. To try to tie the downturn in your industry to the health care reform, most of which has not even been implemented and will not be implemented until 2014 is not valid. It may further interest you to know that a national non partisan group has found that repealing the health care act would destroy over 250,000 jobs. (http://www.bizjournals.com/dayton/news/2011/01/07/health-care-reform-repeal-to-kill-jobs.html) Congressional Budget Office estimates 890,000 new jobs in health-related industries alone, and repealing the law would add $23 billion to the debt. (http://www.citizen-times.com/article/20110115/OPINION02/110114042/Repealing-health-care-reform-would-add-billions-to-debt)

  2. gesvol said

    To say that tort reform is the most important cost saving element for health care reform requires either an overestimation of the cost of medical liability or an underestimation of the total cost of health care, or maybe both. Though I suspect Steve may have been more interested in promoting his “leading job board” anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
