Politicalmonkey2010

The Truth Shall Set You Free…It might piss you off first, but it will set you free.

God Speed Rachel Corrie – Bound for Gaza

Posted by politicalmonkey2010 on June 2, 2010

Not to be deterred another flotilla is headed for Gaza, the Rachel Corrie.

Who is Rachel Corrie?  She was  a 23-year-old American peace activist who was crushed  to death in 2003 by a bulldozer as she tried to prevent the Israeli army destroying homes in the Gaza Strip.  The events surrounding Corrie’s death are disputed, eyewitnesses assert that the Israeli soldier driving the bulldozer deliberately ran Corrie over while she was acting as a human shield to prevent the demolition of the home of a local pharmacist Samir Nasrallah.  The Israeli Government and the IDF denied that version of events and described Corrie’s death as an accident.

There is a beautiful  series of emails to her family, she explained why she was risking her life.  I have selected a few excerpts, but please, please take the time to read them here http://www.rachelcorrie.org

February 7 2003

Hi friends and family, and others,

I have been in Palestine for two weeks and one hour now, and I still have very few words to describe what I see. It is most difficult for me to think about what’s going on here when I sit down to write back to the United States. Something about the virtual portal into luxury. I don’t know if many of the children here have ever existed without tank-shell holes in their walls and the towers of an occupying army surveying them constantly from the near horizons. I think, although I’m not entirely sure, that even the smallest of these children understand that life is not like this everywhere…no amount of reading, attendance at conferences, documentary viewing and word of mouth could have prepared me for the reality of the situation here. You just can’t imagine it unless you see it – and even then you are always well aware that your experience of it is not at all the reality….If any of us had our lives and welfare completely strangled, lived with children in a shrinking place where we knew, because of previous experience, that soldiers and tanks and bulldozers could come for us at any moment and destroy all the greenhouses that we had been cultivating for however long, and did this while some of us were beaten and held captive with 149 other people for several hours – do you think we might try to use somewhat violent means to protect whatever fragments remained? I think about this especially when I see orchards and greenhouses and fruit trees destroyed – just years of care and cultivation. I think about you and how long it takes to make things grow and what a labour of love it is. I really think, in a similar situation, most people would defend themselves as best they could. I think Uncle Craig would. I think probably Grandma would. I think I would.

Please, please take the time to read her emails in full.  I am the first to admit that I am a cynical bitch, and as I sit here tears are streaming down my face for a young woman who at the tender age of 23 had more internal fortitude than world leaders…God Speed Rachel Corrie

Leave a Reply

 
